Home Forums Discussions Will Eisner Book for Inspiration

0 replies, 1 voice Last updated by  Dennis Divine 7 months ago
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Dennis Divine
    Participant
    @DennisD

Hello all. I’ve been a technical writer in manufacturing for 22 years, & it’s hard to find books related to the subject that are inspirational. (They’re either dry theory, or pertain to situations that aren’t applicable to me.)

Anyway, I happened to come across a book on the late Will Eisner, titled PS Magazine: The Best of Preventative Maintenance Monthly. Eisner is considered by many to be a founding father of the graphic novel, & was active for years on the staff of “Mad Magazine”, plus his own work in the comic book industry. A WWII veteran, Eisner & his team won a contract in 1951 with the US Army to make a comic-book version of its technical bulletins that were circulated to Army personnel. This often pertained to Motor Pool mechanics, but covered other technical topics related to everything from maintaining rifles to tanks. So Eisner had to develop not only the technical illustrations, but also translate military jargon and instructions into understandable material for troops in the Korean War.